Modney and Wubbels perform Anthony Braxton's Composition No. 222 (1998)

Wet Ink's Josh Modney (violin) and Eric Wubbels (piano) perform an evening-length rendition of Anthony Braxton's Composition No. 222 for violin and piano, from Braxton's Ghost Trance Music series. Wet Ink has become a champion of Braxton's music, from the ensemble's critically acclaimed portrait concert in celebration of Braxton's 70th birthday in 2016 (praised by The New York Times as "dense, wild, yet artfully controlled"), to Modney's solo violin recording of Composition No. 222 on his Engage album (New Focus Recordings - 2018), lauded by Seth Colter Walls as "both respectful in its intentions and radical in its execution" (The New York Times), and the Wet Ink Large Ensemble's 2018 recording of Composition No. 56 on Wet Ink: 20 (Carrier Records).

Offering great creative freedom to the performers and presenting infinite possibilities for reinterpretation, Braxton's Ghost Trance Music and his philosophy of creative musicmaking has been hugely influential on today's adventurous music community. Having performed as a duo for nearly a decade in projects ranging from Mathias Spahlinger's groundbreaking hourlong work extension (1979/80) to Wubbels's own "the children of fire looking for fire" (2012), this will be Wubbels and Modney's first performance of Composition No. 222.


Tuesday, February 19th, 2019, 9:00pm
Areté Venue and Gallery
67 West St, Brooklyn, NY 11222
$15 general (no pre-order, cash only at the door)


Anthony Braxton: Composition No. 222, for violin and piano (1998)


Josh Modney, violin
Eric Wubbels, piano